Observing the Sabbath

I’ve been saying for years that I want to observe the sabbath.  I don’t really enjoy a Sunday full of pressure and tasks that must be accomplished.  I’m pretty sure God doesn’t want me contemplating skipping a church service because I have too many other things to do or I’m simply too tired.  Because of the unique nature of my church attendance, I can easily spend 6.5 hours driving to and attending church service, LIFE group and mass each weekend.  Granted not each of those things happens every single weekend, but I would say more than 80% of the time that’s how I spend my worship time with the Lord on a Saturday/Sunday.  That surely seems like a big chunk of time.  But, if the point of my Sunday is to spend it resting in the Lord, I can hardly think of a better way to spend 6.5 hours than in organized worship.

So yes, for years I have been planning to observe the sabbath.  What’s holding me back?  I would have to admit that the most accurate general answer is a real lack of organization and misaligned priorities in my life.  To actually spend the day with the Lord means the grocery shopping, the laundry, the lesson plans, the class newsletter, the house cleaning, etc. must fit into another time during the week.  It’s about organization and priorities, it’s about planning ahead, it’s about saying no and it’s about making the decision to be different.

I’ll go public now and state that next Sunday will be a day with the Lord, celebrating the freedom of living in the USA, enjoying my family and church friends, and I will do my best not to let my mind wander back to my to-do list during the day…especially during the service.

One thought on “Observing the Sabbath

Leave a Reply

