resting

I wouldn’t say I did a great job of observing the sabbath, but I certainly had a day of rest.  In fact, I’ve had about 3 days of rest.  Oh, I’ve done a few minor things around the house but nothing of any real substance.  While my body is in the habit of waking up for work, I’ve managed to train it to get a good nap in each day that I’ve been off work.  Today was no exception.  We went to Sunday school and the late service.  The scripture we studied in class was from 1 Samuel and it was about how Saul wasn’t patient enough to wait for Samuel and he took matters into his own hands.  Really good scripture (isn’t it all?)  and teaching about being patient and trusting God when you are making decisions.  Our pastor, Deron, is starting a new series and today he talked about the fruits of the spirit.  He made the point that the group of 9 can be divided into 3’s…love, joy and peace–deal with your relationship with God; patience, kindness and goodness–deal with your relationship with others; faithfulness, gentleness and self-control–deal with your own self.  He also reminded us that all the fruits are for all Christians, that they come from the Holy Spirit not from any worldly thing or person.  I’ve got a couple in particular that I want to work on…or more importantly, pray for the Spirit to strengthen within me.

After church we went to the grocery store.  I know.  I know.  Ugh.  I try not to do it.  It’s actually my least favorite time ever to go, but I didn’t make myself go on Friday or Saturday and frankly we were out of food.  We came home, put away groceries, fixed sandwiches for lunch and then took a nice,  long nap.  Ahhh…glorious.  We spent the evening at our church picnic.  It was so great so see so many people we know.  It’s nice to fit in.  The food was fabulous, fireworks were fantastic and my good friends were there to celebrate with me.  Plus, my husband looks cute basking in the glow of fireworks.

A day free of stress, observing the sabbath, even with time to myself tonight for some writing.  I’m certain it helps that I have one more day off before returning to work on Tuesday.  I’ll start to think about my work week tomorrow.  But tonight, I’ll enjoy a good night’s sleep and look forward to beginning my work at home in the morning.

3 thoughts on “resting

  1. Glad you had a nice day of rest! And on a Sabbath related note, I want to start reading more scripture. Fr. Kevin convinced me during his homily this last weekend. I’ll let you know how that goes!

  2. I need to crack the whip on that whole Sabbath bit. We’ve slacked a little since our move. I’m actually working on a negotiation to get ALL my Sundays off from work again. That’d be nice.

  3. I was going to make a comment about your first post on the sabbath. I love the idea! I have been thinking the same thing especially since I started reading the one yr Bible. I even told Patrick a few weeks ago that we should try not to go to the store on Sunday. Wouldn’t it be nice if all Christians followed this commandment then the stores couldn’t stay open on Sundays and we (us pharmacists, etc) wouldn’t have to work! Anyway I’m going to keep trying to plan ahead and not go to stores

Leave a Reply

