A most interesting stop on our journey

…that’s what I said to the County Sheriff who handed me my red visitor’s badge and proceeded to radio ahead to open two locked doors.  He led me through the suspect line up corridor and into the booking area.  Now I generally enjoy spotting orange clothing, in fact I will usually make eye contact and smile at the person who is bold enough to wear bright orange.  Today was an exception.  I avoided all eye contact with the three men in orange jumpsuits.  I clutched my orange purse under my arm and cautiously turned my back to them.

Certainly, a most interesting stop on our adoption journey.  Today was fingerprinting day!  I left work early to go to the county courthouse for my official fingerprints.  It was quite an experience.  I’m sure I could write an entire post to tell you all about the people I saw and the things I heard.  I’ll spare you the gory details.  No, really.  It wasn’t bad at all.  It did take almost an hour and a half for the three of us to get our prints taken.  I did see a variety of people and had quite an extensive conversation with the jail administrator.  He seems to be doing a good job, in my opinion.  After all he was there working when he is actually on vacation.  I also saw mothers and wives and sisters bringing money to relatives on the “other side” of the doors.  Well, money and phone cards and reading glasses and Fixodent.  Mr. Jail Administrator commented that it was a slow afternoon compared to the line of visitors they had at 8:00 this morning.

So yes, a most interesting stop.  I had several thoughts I’ve never had before.  But my favorite was this, “Ahhh, the things we do for our kids!”

I can’t wait to tell them about it someday!

2 thoughts on “A most interesting stop on our journey

    • Um, thirty. Well, it only took 15 minutes to do my 10. However the men in orange required some attention that took priority. The just squeezed us prospective parents and sibling in when there was a staff member available!

Leave a Reply

