Resolutions

Tomorrow I start my 12th year of teaching, which is actually pretty unbelievable.  I’m so blessed to be doing what I do, but seriously I thought I’d probably teach one or two years.  Then, I’d get married have babies and live happily ever after…in California.  Yep.  That’s what I thought.  I’m so glad God guided my path in this unexpected direction.  It’s been nice.

A new school year brings about resolutions, just like a new calendar year.  Those of us in education get sort of mid-year do over as far as setting resolutions goes.  As is classic for me, tomorrow begins my new school year and I do have great intentions of purposely planning some new habits.  I haven’t exactly formulted all of those habits yet, but I will.  By next week.  Or so.

One resolution I am sure of is a renewed promise to myself to observe the Sabbath.  I’ve touched on this subject a couple of times in past writings, and have made little victories in creating my day of rest.  I’m looking forward to forming some life changing habits.

We’ve done a pretty good job of keeping our home clean and mostly clutter free for the past several weeks.  It really does feel better when things look better.  I had a few small-ish projects I wanted to accomplish during my break and decided to tackle one of them this past Wednesday night.  The night part was probably my first mistake.  Although I’m generally more of a night person than a morning person, emptying the hall closet at 9:00 pm probably wasn’t the brightest idea I’ve ever had. 

And so it sat for the next three days.  I had gone from a clean house I was proud of, to a coffee table and two couches covered with randomness.  Oh, I picked at it here and there.  I wondered if bug spray expires and if newspaper clippings from 1997 were seriously worth keeping.  I didn’t want to just throw things back in there without organizing and evaluating…that was the whole point of the project.

But last night, I did it.  I finished going through everything and putting it all back into the closet.  Well, not all of it, of course.  Some things were trashed forever:  hair products that never really worked; some things were consolidated: my niece’s craft materials squished into one small container rather than a half filled large one; others relocated to separate area of the house: my bath salts to the bathroom (genius!) and still others in a pile ready to leave the house: including a three hole punch and my old straightener.

The closet’s not perfect, but at least I know what is in there and where to find it.

This is all to say that I was determined to finish the job before Sunday.  I also cleaned my kitchen and cooked 4 pounds of ground turkey.  I put in the hard work on Saturday (and to be honest, the early hours of Sunday) in order to have a restful day today.  It’s obviously not very realistic to think I will do no work on Sundays, but I am looking forward to days that are relaxing and refreshing rather than hurried and stressful.  This morning, I got up first to take a bath.  When the others were getting ready, I put lunch in the crockpot.  We went to the early service at church and came home after Sunday School.  It took me about 40 minutes to finish lunch.  The five of us sat at the table together for the first time this week.  I’m looking forward to regular schedules and dinners together as the school year gets underway.

Because I started with a clean kitchen, it was easy to keep up with dishes as I was cooking.  It was no big deal to clean up after lunch, and as I sit here typing I hear the magical sound of the dishwasher running.  Ahhh.

I’ll spend the afternoon lying in my bed or sitting on the couch.  I’ll do some blog reading and perhaps more blog writing.  I’ll think about my other resolutions.  I might even look at my curriculum book.  It’s not really working if it’s what I choose to do on this hot summer day.  We’ll have a family cookout at my sister-in-law’s house tonight and spend a little more time with the Lord this evening.  It is after all, His day.

3 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Thanks Holly! I’m realizing my iPhone pictures dont look quite as great as shots taken with a super cool camera…but at least it conveyed the message! I still have a hutch to clean out and the boxes under my bed must get done…soon! Good luck with your areas, too!

  2. Kate I’m so happy I’m no the only person that decides to do projects in the middle of the night. I realize more and more… I am normal, LOL!!!!

    Love ya, there are people that God just blesses with a kindness that just amazes me and your that person<3 Loves

Leave a Reply

