I remember

I was teaching at Chisholm Elementary. 
I remember turning the radio off because the sound of sirens was scaring my students. 
I remember wondering who in the world thought they could get away with something like that. 
I remember talking with my teacher friend across the hall as she got updates from her husband at Vance AFB. 
I remember the moment I realized our country would go to war. 
I remember going to noon mass and singing “Let There Be Peace On Earth” as my eyes filled with tears. 
And I remember writing a birthday letter to my little sister knowing this was a day we would always remember.

Leave a Reply

