I’m just a girl who can’t say no

I haven’t meant to avoid the topic, I just haven’t been inspired to write thought provoking posts lately.  However, I don’t really want to forget details and I am so thankful for all of you that are praying for our family, I want to make sure I keep everyone updated.

The week of Thanksgiving we did find out that “our girls” were moving forward with a permanent placement.  We are genuinely happy for them and it was really an answer to prayer.  Rob and I had been committed to waiting and making sure that they had a permanent placement before we moved forward with anyone else.  Now that we know they are taken care of, we feel free to move on and begin looking at other sibling sets.

We’re back in this strange place of picking out kids.  I keep saying that it’s not hard for me to say yes to a kid, it’s hard for me to say no.  We have a general age group that we’re looking for and we definitely want a sibling group.  The girl/boy status is really only figured in when we think about putting the sibling group in a bedroom together.  Although honestly, we have three boys, so we think girls would be fun.  However, we’ve also seen some pictures of some really cute boys out there!  So, if we find a sibling group that fits our age range and seem to be able to share a bedroom–we should just go for it, right?

It’s really not quite that simple.  We need to take into account the needs of all parties involved–the kids, Rob’s boys, Rob & I.  We are also praying and asking others to join us.  We want to be sure we are seeking God throughout this process and to have the faith that He will lead us to the right children.  His timing is perfect and we need not get in a rush to receive His blessings.

In the meantime, I did ask Rob if we should move to one of the smaller bedrooms so that we can fit at least 3 bunkbeds in the master bedroom.  Then I won’t have to say no as often.  We’ll see!  🙂

2 thoughts on “I’m just a girl who can’t say no

  1. Well, I’m glad the girls will have a home, and I’m excited to get to know who will get to share your home now! I can only imagine how torn you feel about girls v. boys. They’re all just too crazy cute.

  2. Well I’m sure your heart was a tiny bit heavy that your girls found a different home but knowing you like I do, I know you are ultimately happy for them 🙂 That only means that God has even more perfect kiddos to fit into your family! Still praying for you friend! I admire you so much!

Leave a Reply

