delighting in the Lord

I do have a million thoughts in my head and a million memories to write down.  However, I do not have a million minutes to type and I do have nearly a million people wanting some details about my very wonderful day.  Plus, I can’t hardly keep it in!  So here’s the shortest version I can come up with at this point…

Last Tuesday, April 26, Rob received a phone call from our caseworker.  A few minutes later, I was paged at work announcing that I had a phone call.  That never happens during class time.

Tears sprung to my eyes, a wide grin of disbelief spread across my face and I had to sit down as Rob repeated the news to me.  Our caseworker called to say we had been matched with a sibling group.  A sibling group of 5 children.  Four year old twins, three-year old twins and a two-year old.  Boy, girl, boy, girl, boy.  Five under five.  I made Rob repeat the details to me a few times and asked him to email me because I was sure I would forget something important.  We hung up and I shared the details with the other staff members in the gym with me.  They offered to take my students back to class so I could share the news with a few others.  I simply couldn’t keep my mouth shut!  I was gushing the news to anyone I saw…talking fast, being excited, overwhelmed and overjoyed at the blessings and love of God.

We had already planned to attend the next adoption party on May 7.  It had also been previously arranged for these particular children to attend. Eleven long days away.  Eleven long days and eleven short nights knowing I would be meeting a group we had been matched with, the kids who might someday call me Mom.  I have been unable to sleep much. There are many details bouncing around in my head.  Many scenarios, many dreams, many prayers of thanksgiving.  It seems as though whatever time I wake up, I cannot go back to sleep.  Sometimes it’s 6:00 a.m. and sometimes it’s 3:30 a.m. and sometimes it’s somewhere in between.

And so today, we met four of the five kids.

They are simply wonderful.  Really, really wonderful.

We made Fruit Loop necklaces and bracelets.  We played with a barrel of monkeys and helium balloons.   Rob helped their foster dad find seats for lunch while I helped their foster mom carry plates.  Rob held the three-year old girl and I held the two-year old boy while they enjoyed a tasty lunch of hotdogs and french fries.  We took a carriage ride with three of them, all four rode horses.  We petted sheep, ducks, chickens, a goat and a dog.  They took turns brushing a miniature horse.  The two-year old boy nearly fell asleep in my arms after lunch.  The three-year old boy snuggled in close to me when he was afraid to ride a horse, but beamed with pride as we walked around the arena together riding the horse his twin had just dismounted.

They are beautiful and tiny and their caseworkers and foster parents had so many positive things to say.

Paperwork has to be completed before we receive final authorization for the kids.  The next step is full disclosure of all the information in their files.  The estimated timeline for full disclosure is 2 weeks.  After that, there is a required 24 hour wait period before we can officially say yes and begin visitation.  No one can officially say this is a 100% deal, but caseworkers on both sides as well as foster parents feel very confident that this will happen.

While we’re waiting for this paperwork to be completed, we are so very thankful to know that “our” children are in a wonderful foster home.  I can’t remember what I specifically said to their foster mom, but it was something about God, when her eyes filled with tears as she told me she had been praying for their future.  I tearfully hugged her and said I’ve been praying, too.  I know we were both relieved to know that each “momma” is a Christian and that the kids have been, and will continue to be, prayed for.

The four-year old boy wasn’t able to attend.  He is in a separate foster home and something came up.  We were sad not to get to meet him, but did have a chance to visit with his caseworker.  She assured me that his foster mom is wonderful and has worked hard to make sure he has everything he needs.  We are looking forward to time with him in the future and the day when all of the siblings will be united!

I do not really have enough words to describe everything that I am feeling and thinking.  We are so grateful to all of your prayers and support and I look forward to sharing the rest of our journey with you!

Take delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

6 thoughts on “delighting in the Lord

    • I wondered if you guys were there, but I realized I don’t know what you look like. I pretty much only noticed four little kids. 🙂 We tried not to “hog” them, but it was a bit difficult! I did scan the list of individuals, looking for a little one for you!

  1. Oh my goodness! I am overjoyed & sooo thankful to hear this beautiful news. I know you will keep all of us up to date. Travis & I are praying for everyone. Thanks be to our God, God of Glory & Grace!!

    • Thanks Mandy May! I was just thinking today that your youngest and my youngest are close to the same age. Playdate!!

Leave a Reply

