To: Mom From: Kate ~~I love you!~~

My mom is an amazing woman who birthed 6 children in just under 9 years.  She was birthing and breastfeeding children from her mid-twenties through her mid-thirties.  She coached other breastfeeding moms and our academic team, led Camp Fire, Cub Scouts and 4-H and drove all over northwestern Oklahoma for baseball, softball, basketball and football games for over 20 years.  Most of our Halloween costumes were homemade.  We always had an afterschool snack waiting for us.  When the bus got stuck in our ditch, we all unloaded and Mom welcomed us in to watch Star Wars and eat popcorn. (And she didn’t let the high school boys chew tobacco in her kitchen.)

 

She sings weird songs–I Like Beer, Octopus’s Garden, I Won’t Dance, etc–which end up surprising me when I heard that they were real songs.  And something about a Methodist.

She calls us by the wrong names–Up, Chuck; Pick it, Wilson; Homer, you old coot; Billy Jo, Bobby Jo, Betty Jo–again, wonderful reaction when I learn there are real references to these names.

She talks about Lamar Jean (which I’ve never seen in print, so I have no idea how you spell it) and her mousey breath.  She tells grandmother when there’s plenty.  And I can’t read The Night Before Christmas without pausing as my mother so eloquently does…

When out on the lawn there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from the bed to see what was the matter.
Away to the window I flew like a flash,
Tore open the shutters and threw up

………………………………………………………………….

 the sash.

She graduated from OSU in December 1994…managing to attend college at the same time as one of her children for just a semester.

She planned high school graduation receptions in 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001 and 2003.  We partied good in 1999–2 college graduations, 1 high school graduation and an 8th grade graduation in the scope of about 3 weeks.

 

She survived 6 weddings in 6 years.
Kate & Rob 2003
Patrick & Ryn 2004
Eli & Kristen 2005
Robert & Sarah 2006
Marianne & Jon 2007
Maggie & Mark 2008

 

She began spoiling my fiance’s sons in 2002 and hasn’t stopped shopping for grandchildren since.

She married a Baptist and raised a lot of kids in a 3 bedroom house.

I knew I wanted to be just like her when I grew up.

I love you, Mom!

2 thoughts on “To: Mom From: Kate ~~I love you!~~

  1. I love you, too, Kate. You made me giggle and cry. I can’t wait to spoil the next grandchildren. And oh how I love groups! XOXO Mom

Leave a Reply

