the first time ever i saw your face

one year ago today, I left the waiting room of the children’s hospital where my baby niece just came out of open heart surgery.  I drove to our county dhs office and prayed that 5 specific files had been delivered.  we had said “yes” just a few days before after receiving the call about our kids.  here is my first glimpse of my kids…their picture atop a large stack of papers, secretly snapped with an ancient cell phone and texted to their daddy.  I printed a few copies and carried them around like a blurry ultrasound picture.

a proud mama indeed.

Image

Leave a Reply

