new chapters

My blog subtitle is “writing the details of this chapter while waiting for the next.” I’d say I’m at least one year overdue for a blog redesign.  Maybe I’ll tackle that soon!

I am about to embark on another new chapter.  After 13 years of teaching, I will not be returning to the classroom in August.  Today I began the last break at The Little light House before the 6 week summer term.  I have exactly 27 days of work remaining.

Scratch that.

I have more than 15 years of work remaining.  At least.

In the fall, I will stay at home and teach my most important class of students.  My children. I’m still working out the details of what our homeschooling will look like.  I’ll have two 5 year olds, two 4 year olds and a 3 year old.  I know for sure it will include playing, loving, growing and learning together.  Together.  That’s the main idea.

No more waking the children at 5:45 to be out the door by 7:00 each morning.  No more dinners in my classroom after school, followed by speech therapy and arriving home in time to put pj’s on and get in bed. No more daily lunch packing, extra clothes grabbing, running out the door mornings.   No more Wednesday (my middle son) pointing out each morning that he doesn’t go to my school, like Monday, Tuesday and Friday.  No more spending more time with other people’s kids than my own each day.

Of course that also means no more Little Light House.  No more 40+ hours serving in a ministry that strives to improve the lives of children with special needs.  No more serving alongside some of the finest Christian women I will ever know. Ahh…but all of that must be for another post, another day.  I still have 6 weeks of summer session! : )

I am looking forward to these next three weeks at home.  It has been one long stretch of busy days since we returned from spring break in March.  I have high hopes to work alongside my husband to get caught up on housework, organization, decluttering, etc. this weekend.  Then I can concentrate on hanging out with my kids!

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

