Flat line Friday….

Oh…the moment we’ve all been waiting for….

I stepped on the scale at the gym this morning.

And…

I weigh exactly the same as I did last week.  Like exactly. To the tenth of a pound.  I’m not exactly sure what that’s about, and because this is all about honesty and accountability…it bummed me out a tiny bit.  Just a tiny bit, though.  As my husband said this morning, I’ve been at this long enough to know the right things to do, and the results will happen.  Technically I have maintained my usual average loss of 2 pounds per week…because I have lost 6 pounds in the last 3 weeks, it just happened all in the same week.  The plus side is that I’m not going to eat a bunch of junk this weekend.  Usually after a good week of healthy eating, I’ll have a day to eat whatever I want.  And then sometimes that spills into the next day. Instead of being terribly bummed out about the numbers this morning, I feel motivated to stay healthy and see different results next week.

I mentioned yesterday that we’re doing a bit of celebrating around here.  Today is my oldest twins’ birthday.  Their menu includes…cinnamon roll waffles with icing and sprinkles for breakfast.  (I also made them nutritious smoothies with strawberries, blueberries, banana, apple juice, almond milk & plain Greek yogurt).  I ate leftover oatmeal when I got home this morning.  I had some smoothie and one half of a cinnamon roll waffle…I wasn’t going to have any, but seriously? I’m human and this was our first attempt at this birthday treat.  I thought it would be fun to have a birthday lunch date with Daddy today and the birthday kids requested Happy Meals.  Easy enough for mama…and we haven’t had much (maybe two times?!) fast food this month.  I will probably eat something at home before we go so I can have a more peaceful lunch.  The kids will be super excited to be at Daddy’s work and they might need some help settling down.  I don’t need to try to do that and juggle a McDonald’s salad at the same time!  Tonight I’m making chicken spaghetti for dinner.  It’s a new recipe, too.  Not going to be healthy, so I’m not sure what I’ll have.  Of course they’ll be birthday cake and ice cream, too.  I think I’ll be able to resist those treats.  I have some healthy ice cream and could maybe have a protein bar if I want something sweet.  I’ll let you know how all that goes! : )

Still working on my menus and grocery list.  I really want to get the major shopping done on Saturday.  We are supposed to get some yucky weather throughout the week and I want to avoid the “bread and milk” crowd, but I do want to have plenty of healthy food available if we’re stuck at home at all.

Other goal news…I didn’t run last night, even though it should have been a planned run day. I can still get my 14 miles in this week if I do 6 on Saturday.  Busy day…Rob has to work Saturday morning and I need to fit grocery shopping and running at some point before we go to church at 5:00.  Too bad juggling a busy schedule doesn’t burn any calories!!

Focus for the next week…
Lights out by 8:45 Sunday (uh…superbowl?!) through Thursday..asleep by 9:00.  Of my weekly goals, I did the worst on this one this week.  Like I was never asleep before 10:00…maybe never before 11:00??  So yes, lights out (iphone off, ipad off, laptop off…unplugged!) by 8:45…for sure!!!!

Eat clean, track calories on My Fitness Pal, and stay under weekly calorie goal.  I did well with calories this week, so I’m not exactly sure why I didn’t lose weight.  So…I’m going to do well again!  For sure CLEAN eating on Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Wednesday & Thursday.  Under calories every single day. Today I had a half cinnamon roll and I will likely have a few bites of birthday dinner and I just might lick the icing off the knife.  Maybe.  Tuesday is our last birthday of the season, so I’ll leave room for a few bites there, too.  Definitely will track every bite, every calorie..but will allow a few fun bites on these birthdays and eat only clean foods the rest of the week.

(I’m defining “clean” as whole foods, minimally processed, and if they come from a package they must have 5 (clean) ingredients or less.  That might mean I eat a lot of bananas and broccoli if I don’t prep well…but I think I can manage to try out some clean recipes!  I’ll blog about that in the coming week.)

I also want to be sure I am drinking plenty of water, so I will make it a goal to drink six 22 ounce bottles of water each day.

Oh yes, and get some running in, too!

So there you have it.  Refocusing for the coming week…counting calories, clean eating, plenty of sleep, plenty of water and plenty of sweat. And I will confidently step on that scale a week from today and see the results!

(I also realized if you don’t know me in real life (hello, strangers!) you might not know that I work out at least 5 days a week at the best gym in the world, Fitness Protection Program.  It’s a 40 minute boot camp type workout that is intense, every single day.  So my 14 miles of running is in addition to daily workouts. Plus, I’m in a contest with my family and I have to workout at least 30 minutes every day.  FPP, running, yoga or something…but I do at least 30 minutes of exercise every single day.)

Back to my birthday kids now…have a happy Friday everyone!  I hope you can celebrate goals met and/or get focused for the week ahead.  Every day is a new opportunity to do something great…give it all you’ve got!

One thought on “Flat line Friday….

Leave a Reply

